Tag: authors

This tag is associated with 7 posts

Man Booker Prize 2013: shortlist announced

September 13th, 2013 at 08:09

The shortlist for the 2013 Man Booker Prize has been announced.

Nottingham Festival of Words: 9-24 February 2013

January 31st, 2013 at 10:01

The first Nottingham Festival of Words takes place from 9th to 24th February across multiple locations in the city and beyond.

Hilary Mantel takes Man Booker Prize, again!

October 18th, 2012 at 09:10

"[Hilary Mantel's] is a story unique in Man Booker history. She becomes only the third author, after Peter Carey and J.M. Coetzee, to win the prize twice, which puts her in the empyrean."

And the Nobel Prize in Literature 2012 goes to…

October 11th, 2012 at 11:10

The 2012 Nobel Prize in Literature has today been awarded to China's Mo Yan "who with hallucinatory realism merges folk tales, history and the contemporary".

17 days, 797 authors and 757 events can only mean…?

August 11th, 2011 at 10:08

… the 2011 Edinburgh International Book Festival.  Starting on 13th August, feast your eyes on what’s in store here.   If you can’t make it to the Festival, there’s still plenty to enjoy online.  In particular, check out Elsewhere: New Writing Commissions. 50 authors have been commissioned to write short stories or essays, all on [...]

Man Booker Prize 2011 longlist announced

July 28th, 2011 at 08:07

Yesterday saw the announcement of this year’s longlist for the Man Booker Prize.  If you missed it, here are the books that made it onto the list: Julian Barnes The Sense of an Ending (Jonathan Cape – Random House) Sebastian Barry On Canaan’s Side (Faber) Carol Birch Jamrach’s Menagerie (Canongate Books) Patrick deWitt The Sisters [...]

Longlist announced for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize 2011

March 10th, 2011 at 10:03

LONGLIST ANNOUNCED FOR THE INDEPENDENT FOREIGN FICTION PRIZE 2011 The longlist for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize 2011 has been announced today. The Independent Foreign Fiction Prize is awarded annually to the best work of contemporary fiction in translation. The Prize celebrates an exceptional work of fiction by a living author which has been translated [...]